FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS
DO YOU ACCEPT HEALTH INSURANCE?
The Virtual PT is a cash-based physical therapy practice and does not accept insurance. A receipt of services can be produced upon request which can be submitted to your insurance company for potential reimbursement.
WILL MY INFORMATION BE KEPT PRIVATE?
DO I NEED A PHYSICIAN REFERRAL?
In the state of Texas, patients now have direct access to physical therapists for 10 business days. You do not need a referral from a physician prior to booking your initial evaluation. If treatment persists past 10 days, however, a referral will be required from a qualified provider to continue receiving services. Providers allowed by law to refer to physical therapy include physicians, physician assistants, advanced nurse practitioners, chiropractors, podiatrists, and dentists.
Wellness consultations and follow-ups do not require a referral.
WHAT EQUIPMENT DO I NEED TO RECEIVE TELEHEALTH PT SERVICES?
You will need good internet connection and electronic device that transmits video and sound such as a phone, tablet, or laptop. Video conferencing is performed using www.doxy.me. Make sure you are in a quiet, well lit space so your therapist can appropriately assess your symptoms and movement patterns. Turn off all streaming services (Netflix, Hulu, etc.) in your home during sessions to optimize bandwidth for a clear connection.
DO YOU TREAT PATIENTS IN OTHER STATES, OR JUST TEXAS?
Currently, The Virtual PT is only licensed to treat patients who live in Texas. If demand grows from other states, however, there is always potential to expand.
WHAT IS YOUR RESCHEDULE / CANCELLATION POLICY?
Patients may reschedule/cancel sessions free of charge up to 24 hours before the scheduled appointment. If at least 24 hours notice is provided, patients will receive a full refund. Cancellations with less than 24 hours notice will be refunded 50% of initial payment. No-shows will not be refunded.
WHEN DO I PAY?
Payments will be received via Stripe or PayPal after scheduling an appointment time. See "pricing" section for more details on cost.
WHY DO I ONLY HAVE 10 DAYS BEFORE NEEDING A REFERRAL TO CONTINUE WITH PT?
Up until February of 2019, patients were not allowed to be treated by a physical therapist without a referral in any capacity. House Bill 29 was passed in the most recent legislative session which now allows patients 10 business days of treatment before needing a referral to continue the already established plan of care. Wellness consultations/visits do not require a referral.
(Do you wish you had unrestricted access to physical therapists just like other states across the nation? We do too! Consider contacting your local representative and voicing your complaint in order to increase your access to physical therapists and reduce unnecessary office visit costs.)
CAN I BOOK A TREATMENT SESSION FOR MY FIRST VISIT?
No, you must schedule an Initial Evaluation as your first appointment. Treatments may only be scheduled as follow ups after an Initial Evaluation.